About Malaysia

Malaysia is a multi-ethnic and multi-cultural country, which plays a large role in the Malaysian political landscape. The constitution declares Islam is the state religion while at the same time, protecting freedom of religion. The government system is closely modelled on the Westminster parliamentary system and the legal system is based on common law. The head of state is the King, known as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong. He is an elected monarch chosen from the hereditary rulers of the nine Malay states in every five years. The head of government is the Prime Minister.

Malaysia is divided into Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia. The Peninsular Malaysia comprises of 11 states with 2 federal territories, Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya. Kuala Lumpur is the capital city of Malaysia while Putrajaya acts as the seat of the federal government.

East Malaysia is separated from Peninsular Malaysia by the South China Sea. The East Malaysia includes 2 states (Sabah and Sarawak on the island of Borneo) with a third federal territory, the island of Labuan. In the beginning of year 2018, the population of Malaysia is estimated at 32 million.